Earth, Fire, Air & Water.. oh there’s another one !

Everything that constitutes this planet was said to revolve around Earth, Fire, Air and Water ! But now there’s another one ! How do I know ??? Well… One of my friend whose name has a “Shhhhhh” (ironically)Β  in it actually personified Internet and called it her best friend… oh now you know that person is a female ! Well… that’s what she says… and I have a strong feeling she even believes so πŸ˜›

So, she says, Internet is her best friend because almost everything that she does has a major chunk of it courtesy Internet ! Be it our research friend Google, or Socializing wonders Facebook and Twitter or even just some stupid blogs for making the least out of the free time we have in loads !

I could easily agree with her because I spend more than half of my life in Internet !

I wonder what would happen to me when I am put in a situation where Internet is nothing more than an unknown concept ! It freaks me out to even think of a possibility wherein I get up on a beautiful morning and not find my computer ! I search for my cell phone and when I select the web browsing icon, it throws me an alert saying “Eh ? Now, what’s that ???” I might throw the cell phone right outside the window !!!

But a couple of days down the line, when I would have come out of the shock, would I be still the same frustrated distorted soul ? May be not ! Because we humans have a tendency to socialize no matter what and in whichever mode !!! We always tend to find ways to socialize ! At least the normal sane ones do !

I might take a walk down town, check out the people over there. Speak to some strangers. Try and make friends. Buy a news paper, sip on hot coffee. Stare at the clear blue sky.

When I accidentally meet an old friend, who was out-of-touch, I would actually take his home address to try and visit rather than take his email address and shoot a mail !

Would it be all a pain ? No, I think not ! But is that possible, no, I think not !

The very reason that I am using Internet to even express these thoughts actually makes the real world a little virtual in our times !

I sincerely hope that some of the real joys that we could enjoy at least in our child hood is passed on to the next generation, so that life in the real world isn’t trapped just in the virtual world !

A few of you might believe even this is all real now, but then again, doesn’t it actually prove my point further ?

Tagged , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Earth, Fire, Air & Water.. oh there’s another one !

  1. Veena says:

    Next generation is already trapped in the virtual world…..it is really shocking but true. Its a tragedy Internet helps to communicate but also isolates u :(.

    There is a very famous chinese proverb….for which there is another version “give a person a fish and u feed them for a day,teach that person to use the internet and they won’t bother u for weeks” πŸ˜›

    U r absolutely right humans have a tendency to socialize no matter in whichever mode, but today situation is different……people want the easiest and shortest mode and internet serves there need very well….we r def hugely dependent on internet…it won’t b wrong if we say many of r actually addicted !!

    Its def a huge concern and I agree with u that many kids are loosing out the real joy of childhood !!

    • You are absolutely correct Veena ! I cannot take a side and say its wrong or unfortunate, because the world has always survived because of constant changes more than anything else… but i sure feel its saddening that some of the fun our generation had might just end there !

  2. Lovely !!! What a wonderful way of presenting a perspective without taking sides or getting judgmental but still retaining that little ray of hope that yes, we might actually get over this after the initial frustrations if we really try !

    Nice Nice Nice πŸ™‚ Loved it…

  3. Hmmm…interesting! I guess in our childhood, we did live without internet and lived quite happily too. But then, in ancient times people did live happily without vehicles too (probably it did help that they did not have to reach office by 8 in the morning!! ) . The point is humans can find happiness in anything and also when there is nothing!!

    I don’t think so meeting an old friend down the coffee shop coincidentally is even possible for me, considering the fact that my coffee shop is miles n miles away from most of them!! So where do I turn when I really want to speak to them?? Internet !! That does not mean I have forgotten to take a walk in the pleasant eve, I still do and I am still happy to see people around me!! So you see, its not really that sad that we have internet. Maybe our life would have been still happy without it but I am certainly not complaining that we have it.

    • You are right ! That’s exactly why I haven’t really taken any sides… ‘coz i am not complaining… i am just hoping that the generations to come will have some of the same pleasures that we have enjoyed !

    • … and my point was exactly like yours ! we are obviously benefiting from the technologies around us… but are we stopping at just that ? i think its going beyond just the comfort… becoming entirely dependent on Internet is not cool !! in the long run at least !!!

Any comments ? Please do leave 'em in this space :)

